Photo by P3

The expectations were sky high on Saturday when the Norwegian Grammys, the Spellemann Awards, took place in Oslo!

2015 saw Norway in the light of numerous national and international successes, and one of the most prominent artists to emerge from the year was Nordic Playlist curator Aurora, who was awarded the Spellemann Prize for ‘Newcomer of the Year’ and also received a Gramo scholarship fund of 250.000kr! We caught up with Aurora at Reeperbahn Festival in Hamburg last year for an exclusive interview, as she continued to impress over and over again with her fantastic live shows, singing on the John Lewis Advert and sharing her Christmas Soundtrack – now we can’t wait to see what 2016 has in store for this promising artist!

The Norwegian Queen of Pop Susanne Sundfør cleared the board with her album Ten Love Songs, winning awards in the following categories: ‘Best Pop Solo Artist’, ‘Album of the Year’ and ‘Producer of the Year’ – we bow our heads! Also, her amazing backing vocalists in Bow To Each Other won the ‘Pop Album of the Year’ for their record My Heart Is A Target. What a night for team Sundfør!

And the list goes on with Karpe Diem being awarded ‘Music Video of the Year’ for the clip to their ‘Hvite menn som pusher 50’, André Bratten received a Spellemann for his album Gode and producer and music industry legend Tommy Tee was named the ‘Honorary Spellemann’.

But now to the main winner of this year’s Spellemann prize. The award ceremony saw a live stream from San Francisco with the handover from last years winners, Nico & Vinz, to the master of Norwegian tropical house, Kygo! The past year has been an incredible one for the Bergen producer who now boasts more than 1 billion streams, 3 tracks topping Norway’s main chart simultaneously and sold out gigs worldwide! His track ‘Stole The Show’ also became track of the year – so what will 2016 have in store?!

Congratulations to all the winners:

Spellemann of the year 


Honorary Spellemann 

Tommy Tee

Newcomer of the year and Winner of the Gramo fund


Track of the year

Kygo ‘Stole The Show Feat. Parson James’

Album of the year

Susanne Sundfør ‘Ten Love Songs’

Best Music video

Karpe Diem, ‘Hvite menn som pusher 50’, directed by Marie Kristiansen

Producer of the year

Susanne Sundfør

Best Lyricist

Odd Nordstoga ‘Dette landet’

TONO’s Composition Award

Peter Herresthal & Stavanger Symfoniorkester

Open class

Slagr ‘Short Stories’

Best Folk

Tønes ‘Vindbrest’

best Urban

Arif ‘HighEnd / Asfalt’

Best Contemporary

Asamisismasa ‘Neon Forest Space’

Best Rock

Beglomeg ‘Eurokrjem’

Best Pop artist

Susanne Sundfør ‘Ten Love Songs’

Best Pop group

Bow To Each Other ‘My Heart Is A Target’

Best Metal

Kampfar ‘Profan’

Best Classical

Rolf Lislevand ‘Scaramanzia’

Best Jazz

Team Hegdal ‘Vol 3’

Best Indie

The Megaphonic Thrift ‘Sun Stare Sound’

Best Traditional Folk

Susanne Lundeng ‘111 Nordlandsslåtter – hilsen Susanne Lundeng’

Best Electronic Dance

André Bratten ‘Gode’

Best Dance Band

Gluntan ‘Gluntan 50 År’

Best Country

Erik Moll ‘Many Years To Go’

Best Blues

Knut Reiersrud and Mightly Sam McClain ‘Tears Of The World’

Best Children’s’ music

Maj Britt Andersen ‘Væla omkring’